2012 Chris Freeman Award

In October 2012, at its annual 4S conference, the European Association for the Study of Science and Technology (EASST) bestowed the Chris Freeman Award for the first time. The award recognizes “a publication which is a significant collective contribution to the interaction of science and technology studies with the study of innovation.” The inaugural award was made to Sustainability Transitions (Research Policy, 41 (2012) 955 – 1047) edited by Jochen Markard, Rob Raven, and Bernhard Truffer. My article — “Metatheoretical Perspectives on Sustainability Journeys: Evolutionary, Relational and Durational” — was one of six papers included in the special section.

According to EASST: “Chris Freeman was Professor of Science Policy at the University of Sussex for over 20 years and also with the University of Limburg for many years. He died in 2010 at the age of 88. An economist by background, he produced many highly influential works addressing the dynamics of innovation and the Schumpeterian analysis of long waves of technological change. He also wrote on the social and political aspects of science. He was a founder of the major research centers SPRU and MERIT and was the founder and long standing editor of the journal Research Policy. An internationalist in outlook he was a key promoter of PAREX, a European collaboration in the history and social studies of science that was the direct forerunner of EASST. A modest yet inspiring figure he was renowned for his warm enthusiasm and supportiveness for all who shared a genuine interest in science, technology, and society, whatever their background. He was deeply committed to social change for a more just and sustainable world.”