Ascendant Scholar Talk

On March 9, 2018, I was honored to receive the 2018 Ascendant Scholar Award from the Western Academy of Management, together with Allison Gabriel from the University of Arizona. First awarded in 1982, the list of past winners is now long and distinguished — and filled with many of my heroes. I am especially proud to join several current Alberta colleagues who have won the award in the past: Dev Jennings (1996), Mike Lounsbury (2006), and Marvin Washington (2006). Other prior winners from Alberta include Kay Devine (1995) and Roy Suddaby (2007).

Pictured left to right: Joel Gehman (2018 Ascendant Scholar Award Winner, University of Alberta), Paul Olk (Past President, Western Academy of Management), Allison Gabriel (2018 Ascendant Scholar Award Winner, University of Arizona)

Ascendant Scholars, 1982-2018


  • Allison S. Gabriel, University of Arizona
  • Joel Gehman, University of Alberta


  • Marco DiRenzo, Naval Postgraduate School
  • Marion Eberly, University of Washington Tacoma
  • Crystal Farh, University of Washington
  • Anthony Klotz, Oregon State University


  • Ryan Fehr, University of Washington
  • Samuel S. Holloway, University of Portland
  • Ryan A. Krause, Texas Christian University
  • Pauline Schilpzand, Oregon State University


  • Keith Leavitt, Oregon State University
  • David Wagner, University of Oregon


  • Darren Good, Pepperdine University
  • Andrew Nelson, University of Oregon
  • Chris Barnes, University of Washington


  • Chris Bingham, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Arran Caza, Griffith University
  • Peter Madsen, Brigham Young University
  • Feng Zhu, University of Southern California


  • John Bingham, Brigham Young University
  • Michael Johnson, University of Washington
  • Paul Leonardi, Northwestern University
  • Matthew McCarter, Chapman University


  • Alison Cook, Utah State University
  • Mark Kennedy, University of Southern California
  • Elizabeth Mullen, Stanford University
  • Antoaneta Petkova, San Francisco State University


  • Kristin Behfar, University of California, Irvine
  • Peer Fiss, University of Southern California
  • Camille Johnson, San Jose State University
  • Anne Parmigiani, University of Oregon


  • Teppo Felin, Brigham Young University
  • Kevin Groves, Pepperdine University
  • Mooweon Rhee, University of Hawaii


  • Berrin Erdogan, Portland State University
  • David Hannah, Simon Fraser University
  • Mary Sully de Luque, Thunderbird School of Global Management
  • Chris Zatzick, Simon Fraser University


  • Sally Baack, San Francisco State University
  • Marc Da Rond, Cambridge University
  • Ana Maria Peredo, University of Victoria
  • Roy Suddaby, University of Alberta


  • Christine Beckman, University of California, Irvine
  • Michael Lounsbury, University of Alberta
  • Jeff Shay, University of Montana
  • Marvin Washington, Texas Tech University


  • Brooks C. Holtom, Georgetown University
  • Sally Maitlis, University of British Columbia
  • K. Praveen Parboteeah, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • Barry M. Goldman, University of Arizona


  • Craig Pearce, Claremont Graduate University
  • Shawn Berman, Santa Clara University
  • Peter Kim, University of Southern California
  • Don Jung, San Diego State University


  • Larissa Z. Tiedens, Stanford University
  • Gerardo Andrés Okhuysen, University of Utah
  • Gregory A. Bigley, University of Washington
  • Livia Markoczy, University of California, Riverside


  • Marta Elvira, INSEAD and University of California, Irvine
  • Christina Gibson, University of Southern California
  • Tammy Madsen, Santa Clara University
  • Candace Ybarra, Chapman University


  • Talya Bauer, Portland State University
  • Ellen Ensher, Loyola Marymount University
  • Thomas Lawrence, University of Victoria
  • Rajnandini Pillai, California State University, San Marcos


  • Amy Hurley, Chapman University
  • Lisa Hope Pelled, University of Southern California
  • Daniel Skarlicki, University of British Columbia
  • Katherine Xin, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology


  • Nick Argyres, University of Southern California
  • William Hesterly, University of Utah
  • Kathleen Montgomery, University of California, Riverside
  • Michael Morris, Stanford University


  • Cliff Cheng, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Sandra Robinson, University of British Columbia
  • Steven M. Sommer, University of Nebraska
  • Stephen Tallman, Cranfield School of Management


  • Joyce Osland, University of Portland
  • Gretchen Spreitzer, University of Southern California
  • Sully Taylor, Portland State University
  • Pushkala Prasad, University of Calgary


  • Hal B. Gregersen, Brigham Young University
  • Pamela R. Haunschild, Stanford University
  • P. Devereaux Jennings, University of British Columbia
  • Nandini Rajagopalan, University of Southern California


  • J. Stewart Black, Thunderbird School of Global Management
  • Kay Devine, University of Alberta
  • Michael Vincent Russo, University of Oregon


  • Nakiye Boyacigiller, San Jose State University
  • Jennifer A. Chatman, University of California, Berkeley
  • Margarethe Wiersema, University of California, Irvine


  • Laurence Barton, University of Nevada
  • Raphael H. Amit, University of British Columbia
  • Sydney Finkelstein, University of Southern California


  • Charles Hill, University of Washington
  • Robert Eder, Portland State University
  • Arvind Bhambri, University of Southern California


  • Joan G. Dahl, California State University, Northridge
  • Gibb Dyer, Brigham Young University
  • Gerald Ledford, University of Southern California
  • Glenn McEvoy, Utah State University


  • Connie Gersick, University of Southern California
  • Jay B. Barney, Texas A&M University
  • Kathleen M. Eisenhardt, Stanford University
  • Michael Lawless, University of Colorado, Boulder


  • Anne Tsui, University of California, Irvine
  • Barbara Lawrence, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Marilyn Gist, University of Washington
  • Rod Kramer, Stanford University


  • Thomas Lee, University of Washington
  • David Bowen, University of Southern California
  • Mary Barton, California State University, Northridge


  • Douglas Howley, University of Arizona
  • Kimberly Boal, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Vandra Huber, University of Washington


  • Alan Meyer, University of Oregon
  • Janet Fulk, University of Southern California
  • Manuel Velasquez, Santa Clara University


  • Gerardo Ungson, University of Oregon
  • Jone L. Pearce, University of California, Irvine
  • Mary Ann Von Glinow, University of Southern California


  • Craig C. Pinder, University of British Columbia
  • John W. Seybolt, University of Utah
  • Susan Mohrman, University of Southern California


  • David Boje, University of Southern California
  • John Bigelow, Boise State University
  • Kurt Motamedi, Pepperdine University


  • Dean Tjosvold, Simon Fraser University
  • Joanne Martin, Stanford University
  • Meryl Louis, Naval Postgraduate School